26 November 2016

Pauline Oliveros R.I.P.

Another one of the most important 20th century composers passed on...

25 October 2016

Pussy Riot Trumps Donald Trump with a music video....

More details of the origin of the video here:

Pussy Riot

My only response to that little man, via Pussy Riot.... Enjoy....

23 August 2016

Aquarius Records.... Bites the Dust.... RIP

 Many years ago I was in San Francisco (year 2000 Nov/Dec). Besides being the capital of US Psychedelia back in the 1960s at the Haight-Astbury area, it has been one of the most important musical capitals of the world: the punk, post-punk and industrial scenes of the late 1970s and early 1980s, the home to one of the most vital countercultural publishing houses, RE/Search which introduced the world to the wonderful but sometimes scary insider peeps into Industrial culture, West Coast punk, William S Burroughs/Brion Gysin, JG Ballard, tattoos and body art, feminism, and so many more. It also housed one of the oldest and legendary record shops in the US:Aquarius Records. The shop which was old enough to drink, in terms of its years of existence on this planet. It was on Valencia Street. But after two hours of frantic walking around and asking, I did not manage to locate it. I thought to myself, oh well, I would come back again to S.F. and I would find it the next time round. I guess I cannot fulfil this now. RIP Aquarius Records. You can find this if you go to their website:

ATTENTION DEAR CUSTOMERS. Sorry to say, we're no longer in business - our pals at Stranded/Superior Viaduct have taken over the shop at 1055 Valencia St., and will have a new website up soon. Please read our most recent "in-between list" (link below) for more information on this big change. Thanks everybody who has been a friend or supporter over the years, we'll miss you all!! Wish we could have kept going forever, but things change. Five hundred and two lists, though, that's not bad... And local folks, don't worry, you'll still see many of your favorite aQ staffers at work behind the counter at the new Stranded store!

17 July 2016

BANANAFISH: Seminal Noise Rag got a concise historical treatment


Lo and behold, it came as quite a surprise, or actually maybe not, after Red Bull Music Academy, has so far hosted Keiji Haino, featured writings from ex-Volcanic Tongue honcho David Keenan, and other Underground icons and heads.

Nonetheless, it is a good read of one of the most important fanzines/noise zines in the 1990s and 2000s.

Go read here.

Alan Vega, Suicide, R.I.P.


Another month in 2016, another bites the dust.

Now it's Alan Vega of Suicide. Arguably one of the most important bands post-VU.

My post on Suicide and more...

09 April 2016

Tony Conrad R.I.P.

Tony Conrad passed away on 9 April 2016. His music was amongst the first foundational influences on me to embrace new, experimental, challenging avant-garde arts & musics almost 20 years ago. His solo works throughout the years, his contributions to La Monte Young's pieces, his collaboration with many contemporaries & younger generations like Faust & Genesis P-Orridge established the canon of adventurous music in the late 20th & 21st centuries. May his works reverberate on.

23 March 2016

Let's help Z'EV through this

Z'ev, one of the pioneers of Industrial Music was involved in a serious accident recently. Please go HERE for the details as well possible financial assistance to his hospitalisation and medical expenses so that he can recover and create great music again soon.